• 18.01.2022, 20:22
  • Register
  • Login
  • You are not logged in.

 

Dear visitor, welcome to Aqua Computer Forum. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

Wednesday, May 5th 2021, 1:27pm

If I have started a Steam game and then open the "Program" rule it is visible, so I think only currently running programs are displayed.
Worked perfectly thanks

k2viper

Full Member

Monday, May 10th 2021, 11:10am

Is the Nvidia GPU power monitoring back in X.39?

Monday, May 10th 2021, 11:40am

Is the Nvidia GPU power monitoring back in X.39?
No, the bug is NOT fixed. Until this bug is fixed in all driver versions (Game, whql... ) this value is not available.

cptninc

Full Member

Monday, May 10th 2021, 2:16pm

Is the Nvidia GPU power monitoring back in X.39?
No, the bug is NOT fixed. Until this bug is fixed in all driver versions (Game, whql... ) this value is not available.
Have you looked into how GPU-Z manages to do this without running into any memory leak problems?

I am still on X.36 because of this.

k2viper

Full Member

Monday, May 10th 2021, 3:58pm

No, the bug is NOT fixed. Until this bug is fixed in all driver versions (Game, whql... ) this value is not available.
Well, I'm using X.36 and 465.89 Nvidia driver, no issues with GPU power monitoring so far. Why cant you use older approach that work in X.36?

k2viper

Full Member

Monday, May 10th 2021, 3:59pm

I am still on X.36 because of this.
Same here, and no problems with memory leaks.

biopunk

Junior Member

Monday, May 10th 2021, 10:43pm

No, the bug is NOT fixed. Until this bug is fixed in all driver versions (Game, whql... ) this value is not available.
Well, I'm using X.36 and 465.89 Nvidia driver, no issues with GPU power monitoring so far. Why cant you use older approach that work in X.36?
There is still a memory leak in the driver, around 5 MiB per 10 minutes when HWINFO is running. Tbh that doesn't seem like a lot for someone who restarts their PC every day.

I regret not sticking to X36 and sadly AC don't allow installing an old version. It would be great if GPU power monitoring came back under a user-configurable feature flag in a future version.

This post has been edited 1 times, last edit by "biopunk" (May 10th 2021, 10:44pm)

henson0115

Junior Member

Wednesday, May 12th 2021, 12:34pm

the latest x39 version - aqua computer service causes high CPU usage after the reboot, talking 15-20% usage on a 3900x for the service alone, it looks like a bug to me.

edit: manually restarting the service caused the high usage to stop and go back to normal, need to test what happens after a reboot now.
edit2: seems fine after a reboot now too, seems to be the the first reboot after the install where you get the high usage.

This post has been edited 2 times, last edit by "henson0115" (May 12th 2021, 12:46pm)

Remayz

Full Member

Wednesday, May 12th 2021, 6:42pm

No, the bug is NOT fixed. Until this bug is fixed in all driver versions (Game, whql... ) this value is not available.
Well, I'm using X.36 and 465.89 Nvidia driver, no issues with GPU power monitoring so far. Why cant you use older approach that work in X.36?
There is still a memory leak in the driver, around 5 MiB per 10 minutes when HWINFO is running. Tbh that doesn't seem like a lot for someone who restarts their PC every day.

I regret not sticking to X36 and sadly AC don't allow installing an old version. It would be great if GPU power monitoring came back under a user-configurable feature flag in a future version.
How do you see it? is it the HWinfo process that takes more and more memory? On the forums some people report HWinfo using gigs of ram. on my end it stays at 25mb while being polled by Aquasuite al day long.

Wednesday, May 12th 2021, 9:28pm

The Problem is the NVML interface from Nvidia. This Driver interface has a memory leak. When you read out the power values an some other values in this interface the connection to the driver need more and more memory.
In the Task Manager it looks like the application is consuming RAM, but it is the NVIDIA driver, more precisely the NVML interface. NVIDIA has known about this bug for many months, but does not fix it.

Since the problem is always blamed on us and we are not responsible for the problems of NVDIA, we have removed these values.
They will only be included again when the problem is solved permanently.
Who needs these values must use HWINFO or AIDA. For most users this value has no relevance.

Remayz

Full Member

Thursday, May 13th 2021, 12:23am

(...) For most users this value has no relevance.

Hey, a moving needle on a fancy VU meter is super important :p
Thanks for the info

Marucins

Junior Member

Monday, May 17th 2021, 6:47am

During the update, the program doesn't know where the program is installed.
I have aquasuite installed to another folder.

Is it possible to improve/fix Destination Folder?

Vladimir M

Junior Member

Monday, May 17th 2021, 2:54pm

Hello. New version X.39 keeps crashing.
Windows log:

Source code

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
Faulting application name: aquasuite.exe, version: 10.2.7797.22182, time stamp: 0x6095142e
 Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 10.0.19041.964, time stamp: 0x812662a7
 Exception code: 0xe0434352
 Fault offset: 0x0000000000034b89
 Faulting process id: 0x209c
 Faulting application start time: 0x01d74afe4a3c0c92
 Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\aquasuite\aquasuite.exe
 Faulting module path: C:\Windows\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
 Report Id: a7bcb76e-8a00-49fb-ba3e-f84a8e7d9962


Application: aquasuite.exe
Framework Version: v4.0.30319
Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
Exception Info: System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException
 at System.ThrowHelper.ThrowArgumentOutOfRangeException(System.ExceptionArgument, System.ExceptionResource)
 at AquaComputer.DeviceAccess.HistoryData.GetStatisticData(System.TimeSpan)
 at AquaComputer.Overview.DataControl.DataItem.O1d8OP4MQTT8bELJhJnE(System.Object, System.TimeSpan)
 at AquaComputer.Overview.DataControl.DataItem.QmVCl3kaHi()
 at AquaComputer.Overview.DataControl.DataItem.HHICLUxLST()
 at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(System.Delegate, System.Object, Int32)
 at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.TryCatchWhen(System.Object, System.Delegate, System.Object, Int32, System.Delegate)
 at System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherOperation.InvokeImpl()
 at MS.Internal.CulturePreservingExecutionContext.CallbackWrapper(System.Object)
 at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.RunInternal(System.Threading.ExecutionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback, System.Object, Boolean)
 at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(System.Threading.ExecutionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback, System.Object, Boolean)
 at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(System.Threading.ExecutionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback, System.Object)
 at MS.Internal.CulturePreservingExecutionContext.Run(MS.Internal.CulturePreservingExecutionContext, System.Threading.ContextCallback, System.Object)
 at System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherOperation.Invoke()
 at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.ProcessQueue()
 at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.WndProcHook(IntPtr, Int32, IntPtr, IntPtr, Boolean ByRef)
 at MS.Win32.HwndWrapper.WndProc(IntPtr, Int32, IntPtr, IntPtr, Boolean ByRef)
 at MS.Win32.HwndSubclass.DispatcherCallbackOperation(System.Object)
 at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.InternalRealCall(System.Delegate, System.Object, Int32)
 at System.Windows.Threading.ExceptionWrapper.TryCatchWhen(System.Object, System.Delegate, System.Object, Int32, System.Delegate)
 at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.LegacyInvokeImpl(System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherPriority, System.TimeSpan, System.Delegate, System.Object, Int32)
 at MS.Win32.HwndSubclass.SubclassWndProc(IntPtr, Int32, IntPtr, IntPtr)
 at MS.Win32.UnsafeNativeMethods.DispatchMessage(System.Windows.Interop.MSG ByRef)
 at System.Windows.Threading.Dispatcher.PushFrameImpl(System.Windows.Threading.DispatcherFrame)
 at System.Windows.Application.RunDispatcher(System.Object)
 at System.Windows.Application.RunInternal(System.Windows.Window)
 at AquaComputer.Aquasuite.App.Main()

HWWINFO

Monday, May 17th 2021, 4:00pm

Hi i have updated to latest version but aquasuite x39 cant read hwinfo data its not showing need help ASAP :(

Monday, May 17th 2021, 4:10pm

Hi after update to x39 cant hwinfo is not showing in aquasuite need help
Regards
selva
If you install HWiNFO (free) you should be able to pick up those values under aquasuite services > HWiNFO.
It is a more comprehensive system analysis tool than the aquasuite built-in version, but works the same way & is transparent to the user.


HWInfo didn't support reading the temperature when the drives were in a RAID array last time I checked. The latest beta does seem to but the readings don't seem to fully agree with the physical sensors that the Aquaero has stuck on the drives. Oddly, the stick-on sensors seem more responsive. I tried Crystal Disk Mark to exercise the drives and after a few rounds, Windows blue screened with an IRQL not less or equal in IAStorA.sys .....which perhaps is the instability that Sebastian said they experienced. Physical sensors at least definitely don't blue-screen Windows *shrug*

Hwinfo upto V6.42 works with aquasuite

Monday, May 17th 2021, 4:31pm

Found it hwinfo version V6.42 support after that we have to buy pro version my hwinfo upgraded to 7.02 with autoupdate now i have downgraded to v6.42 all good to go apart from Hwinfo which is good for reading with aquasuite ?
Regards
Selva

Monday, May 17th 2021, 5:05pm

Hello. New version X.39 keeps crashing.
Windows log:

your oveview page is crashing. make a clean install with the setup.

Vladimir M

Junior Member

Monday, May 17th 2021, 5:19pm

Quoted

your oveview page is crashing. make a clean install with the setup.

I already did it. Still crashing.
I chose "New installation".
Everything was fine in the previous version.

This post has been edited 1 times, last edit by "Vladimir M" (May 17th 2021, 5:24pm)

RE: Hwinfo upto V6.42 works with aquasuite

Monday, May 17th 2021, 9:48pm

Found it hwinfo version V6.42 support after that we have to buy pro version my hwinfo upgraded to 7.02 with autoupdate now i have downgraded to v6.42 all good to go apart from Hwinfo which is good for reading with aquasuite ?
Regards
Selva

The latest HWiNFO requires you activate 'Shared Memory Support' (was activated by default previously):
  • Right-Click on the HWiNFO icon in the Taskbar
  • Select Settings
  • Activate 'Shared Memory Support' (hwinfo_shared.jpg)
If you do not have a subscription, this will need to be done every 12 hours.

This post has been edited 1 times, last edit by "InfoSeeker" (May 17th 2021, 9:49pm)

Tuesday, May 18th 2021, 7:30am

Hello. New version X.39 keeps crashing.
List your devices and a few details about your system and Software. Cloase ALL other software Afterburner, RTSS,.. maybe one of the last Microsoft updates is corrupt. Try to remove all *.page files in the folder:

Quoted

C:\ProgramData\aquasuite-data
after installation before you start the aquasuite.